We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

Standard

liars
We Were Liars – E. Lockhart (YA)

Synopsis: Cadence spends every summer on a private island with her family. She mostly spends her time with her cousins and the boy she loves – the group of 4 is better known as the liars. The group of 4 spend their summers in a lazy haze until their 15th summer, when an accident occurs and nothing is what they thought it was.

Opinion: I need to be careful here, because there are NO spoilers in any of the reviews I have read for this book, and I want mine to follow suit. In every review I read, there were inklings of a twist ending, of a sad ending, of a book worth reading. I agree with them all. I wasn’t sure where this book was going for the majority of it – I couldn’t understand why the group was called the liars… but now I get it. The children grow up in a privileged life, but they grow up with their own ideals, and that makes all the difference in this novel. All in all, a novel (a “variation” (Cady’s word) of Shakespeare’s King Lear) that asks if you should always do what you are afraid to do.

2 thoughts on “We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

Leave a comment